huh? did you say it’s the end of the year?

Oh. I guess I can’t really say it snuck up on me … but it did.

This year I finished stitching about 28 things. Kind of dismal, really, especially when you consider that they were all quite small. I read about 42 books, but only “loved” about 5 of them. I think I’ve fallen out of love with Anita Shreve – after many years of a satisfying relationship, she just doesn’t do it for me anymore. Stephen King is still fast in my affections – even more so, now that’s creating those amazing, haunting works of short fiction again. Jasper Fforde is a new star on my horizon, as is Robert Rankin. And I really miss Neil Gaiman – Neil, if you’re listening, please come back to us from the wilds of graphic novels. Please! I’ve watched a few good movies and enjoyed a few fine series, but moving pictures will obviously never be a serious contender for my affections. I hatched out somewhere in the neighborhood of 160 chicks and saw three baby goats into the world. I “mothered” about two dozen tomatoes and about 3 dozen banana peppers into the world. We can see which midwifery skills need improving upon in 2012, can’t we? I’ve watched the kids do totally amazing things in 2011, including joining a swimming team, playing baseball, participating in scouting, and making the honor roll. I’ve participated in a few noteworthy things myself, including assisting the United Way in the ongoing free tax program, baking lots and lots of bread for sale and for charity, and learning more (and doing more) about achieving a self-sustaining way of life. We’ve been fortunate to enjoy a great deal of good health and laughter here at Chateau Chaos, and we feel more at home in Maine than ever. As a matter of fact, we’ll be celebrating the passing of the Old Year tomorrow evening with some dear friends – old and new – which is why I’m here now instead of on New Year’s Eve.

Thank you for being so supportive and encouraging through these many years that I’ve been blogging. I’m looking forward to a wonderful new year full of surprises and challenges, laughter and sharing. :)

About Barbara

nestled into my adopted home state of Maine, where I'm a happy homesteader with a big family that I love lots & lots View all posts by Barbara

23 responses to “huh? did you say it’s the end of the year?

Leave a Reply

Starry-eyed-stitcher

life, the universe, and stitching

Scratchings from an Urban Chicken Farmer

Raising two children on 1/2 acre of land

Katie and The Carrots

life, the universe, and stitching

Yellow Flower Meadow

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

SPINSTER STITCHER

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitching in Lobster Land

life, the universe, and stitching

Quietly Stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitches and More

life, the universe, and stitching

Quilt Obsession

fabric, needle, thread & thimble

Days of a Sampler Lover

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

FogCity Dweller

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitched Memories in Time

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitch by Stitch

life, the universe, and stitching

Oubliette

life, the universe, and stitching

Chocolates for Breakfast; Stitching for Lunch

life, the universe, and stitching

With Needle and Thread

life, the universe, and stitching

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

