you are my sunshine

happy mother's day

I’ve had the great good fortune to be nurtured and supported by some generous and loving people during my time so far on this planet, and today is the day I say thank you to the caring women who’ve helped me become the woman I am. Without you, I never would’ve dreamed so big, endured so much, and insisted on getting so much from life. You’ve pushed, hugged, listened, laughed, become exasperated, dried tears, and loved me … sometimes in spite of myself. The moments in which I get it right with my kids, you are there in spirit and I am thankful for all you have taught and shown me. Women are not made mothers by the physical act of carrying and birthing children, but through the opening of their hearts to those who need to be loved. I’m both proud and humbled to consider myself part of this amazing chain, spanning from one big-hearted woman to the next. Thank you.

About Barbara

nestled into my adopted home state of Maine, where I'm a happy homesteader with a big family that I love lots & lots View all posts by Barbara

7 responses to “you are my sunshine

  • rainss61

    Thank you Barbara! That was beautiful- and so heartfelt!! A very Happy Mother’s Day to you too- you are an incredible example to all and a wonderful nurturer !! Blessings!!
    Fondly, Rain
    Keep stitching !!

  • Vickie

    Happy Mother’s Day Barbara! I sang the song You Are My Sunshine to all of my kids. =)

  • Carol

    What delightful thoughts, Barbara!! I’m sure today is a very special day in your house filled with the kind of sunshine only children can bring–Happy Mother’s Day to you :)

  • Melissa

    Happy Mother’s Day, Barbara! I would say YOU are my inspiration as a great mom! I have always enjoyed your posts and sneak peeks into your family life and how your children are growing and thriving!

    Enjoy your day with your happy and noisy brood! :-)

  • Jeanne

    Hi Barbara, glad to see some posts from you. yes Heidi is an amazing person dealing with all the health issues she has but still producing amazing things. We’re doing a private ornament exchange together.

    Your family is growing up so fast! Don’t know how you do it all and now planning grad school too – you’re amazing! Take care and have a wonderful summer.

  • Dianne

    I just ran across this and it really is a beautiful paragraph. Nice work to a great mom!

Leave a Reply

Nina Gaby

Essays, stories, novels and more.

life, the universe, and stitching

Scratchings from an Urban Chicken Farmer

Raising two children on 1/2 acre of land

life, the universe, and stitching

Yellow Flower Meadow

life, the universe, and stitching

Eye of the Needle

life, the universe, and stitching

SPINSTER STITCHER

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitching in Lobster Land

life, the universe, and stitching

Quietly Stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Quilt Obsession

fabric, needle, thread & thimble

Days of a Sampler Lover

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitched Memories in Time

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitch by Stitch

life, the universe, and stitching

Oubliette

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

