bidding farewell to 2012

It’s been an interesting year. I read 21 or so books, which is far less than usual. I know I gave Salt the highest score, but looking back over my reading list, it’s Stephen King’s book On Writing that seems to have made more of an impact (but I’ve also read it more recently so that may not be fair). Stitching went into a serious slump. I did manage to complete 25 projects, but nothing at all was stitched for both May and June, and only one project for both July and August. Thankfully, when Christmas loomed on the horizon, I found my mojo. I’m enjoying working on The Flood – and I’m loving how enthusiastic Arden gets whenever I pull it out: “That’s for me, right? That’s going to be mine, right Mama?” :) Also in 2012, Niek and I watched all episodes – in order! – of Dr Who (from the 9th doctor onward) on Netflix.  I love Netflix, though I do complain a fair amount about them. Commercial-free viewing is all I can stand – the incessant ads on cable TV have me reaching for the remote to shut it off fast than you can say ‘mareseatoatsanddoeseatoats’. Also in 2012, I decided it was time to act on my long-standing interest in mental health, so I took a few classes at the local university which led to a job in crisis services, and I’m now awaiting notification of whether or not I’ve been accepted to graduate school where I intend to pursue a master’s degree in counseling. With the kids getting older, it seems a bit of personal enrichment/career re-direction can be allowed. If all goes well, I’ll be finishing my graduate studies just as it’s time for Max to go to college, Nick and Ro to start high school, and Arden to … do whatever wonderful things he gets up to. Speaking of those amazing kids, here’s a pic I stole from myself, from my first year of blogging at about this same time of year:

treekidspretrim 2005

Well, Niek’s building a fire in the woodstove to take the chill off. I’ve got a ham & bean soup to make for tonight’s gathering of friends, and a squash and couscous vegetarian dish for the non-carnivores among us. Niek will soon get busy with the preparation of his Dutch delights: zalmsalade, oliebollen, apelflappen … and maybe a surprise or two thrown in. Our friends and their kids will brave the still-snowy roads to say goodbye to the old year and hello to the new one together with us, celebrating the bonds that keep us strong and enrich our lives so much. Wishing one and all peace, happiness, and good health in all endeavors!

second snowstorm 018

 

PS: I feel like I should mention my favorite stitching project of the year, having mentioned favorite books, TV shows, etc … but it’s not really possible to choose a single favorite.  I loved making the BOAF series into treat bags for the kids at the beginning of 2012. I was thrilled by Ro’s reaction to the La D Da “Old Crow” modification I made for her for Christmas. I loved the teeny Chartmakers series – with which I gifted dear friend (such an insufficient word for her!) Sara (pictured below). I had so much fun with Wash Day by CHS and Little Sampler by The Goode Huswife that I wound up keeping them instead of sending them along to others as gifts – oh, am I bad?! I was chuffed by how well my Sudberry box turned out for my father Jim and his wonderful wife Gaby (shown below).And I love that my Dad has a bright and cheery “Good Morning” wish (also below) straight from my heart to his eyes every morning when he has his first sip of coffee. :) I love how stitching brings us all closer, one little x at a time.

CHS Trio

 


Jim Gaby gifts 2012

 

Bent Creek Good Morning

About Barbara

nestled into my adopted home state of Maine, where I'm a happy homesteader with a big family that I love lots & lots View all posts by Barbara

20 responses to “bidding farewell to 2012

  • Jennifer

    Ooh, the Sudberry box of Praiaire Schooler veggies is my fave of your projects. I love the Sudberry stuff, but it’s hard to find and rather expensive. I wish a Very Happy New Year to you and your lovely family (both human and animal). I remember that first blog photo and also your many, many inspiring and thought-provoking posts over the years. I want to grow up to be like you!!!

  • Melissa

    I don’t know how you do it all and now you are going for your Masters! Good for you. I hope it all works out for you too.

    It was great to see your babies as babies! I’m sure you smile and shake your head a bit when you see that photo too.

    I love that picture of the house in the snowy woods. It speaks of a cozyness within. Have a lovely evening with your friends and family ringing in the New Year. All the best wishes for a Happy 2013!

  • Margaret

    So beautiful, all the stitching. I love those BOAF Faith Hope and Charity pieces so much! Nice to hear about your year, and your plans for the future. I hope you get accepted to grad school and can pursue your studies. Love seeing that pic of the kids when you first started blogging. Wow, have they grown! And of course Arden is added into the mix too! So nice that Arden is enjoying seeing you stitch up his ark. So sweet! Happy New Year — enjoy your get-together this evening!

  • Terri

    Happy New Year, Barbara! You certainly accomplished a lot – I don’t know how you do it – and I wish you and your sweet family a terrific 2013!

  • Margaret

    Good for you Barbara – going for your masters. You will enjoy this challenge so much.
    Like you I loved King’s ‘On Writing’. Just started his ‘Duma Key’ and loving it too.
    Have a wonderful ‘jaarwisseling’ and a wonderful 2013.

  • Heidi

    You were so fast on my blog comments and I forgot an entire collage so had to add it. :-)

    I am envious of your snow. Nothing but rain here. Good though as they are hoping it will mean less problems with the youth here this year. I hope you and your family have a really wonderful New Year’s eve and may 2013 be a great year for you all!

    Hugs,
    Heidi

  • Su

    Happy New Year Barbara to you and your family, you have accomplished far more in your year than I but I may pick my stitching up again in 2013

  • Annie

    What a wonderful year of good memories for you! And I dont mean just Netflix downloads! Have a great 2013!

  • Grandpa Jim

    Gaby and I so loved the stitching, showed it to all the neighbors.
    May one and all have a wonderful coming year. Much Love

  • Giovanna

    A happy new year to you all!

  • ruthsplace

    Happy New Year. I hope the coming year is filled with lots of stitching and love and joy.

  • Sue

    Happy New Year, hope it’s a good one for you and yours. Congrats on getting into grad school, how exciting, sounds like it’s going to be a busy year for you. Love how he’s so excited on the Flood, isn’t it great when they connect to a project we’re doing, what a great personnal heirloom you’ll be giving him.

  • Carol

    It’s been a pleasure following along on the adventures of your family this year, Barbara! Such a busy life you have, but so full, too! I wish you luck on your grad school quest–I’ll bet you’ll make a wonderful counselor.

    Love to you and your family :) And may 2013 bring much more love, laughter, happiness, and good health your way!

  • Brigitte

    What a successful year you had. And I loive the gifts that you stitched for friends and family. The Sudberry box is so beautiful and the PS veggies are like made for this particular box.
    Wishing you and your whole family a happy and healthy new year! And looking forward to many more posts from Château Chaos, lol.

  • Catherine

    Happy New Year!! Love all of your projects and always love reading of all the happenings in your piece of the world! The pic of the kids cracks me up ~ so cute!

  • Lili/Leeland

    Happy 2013 to you and yours, Barbara! 2012 has been an interesting year indeed. :)

  • Dianne

    Happy New Year! Oh my gosh, you did a lot last year! You should be proud of everything from all the reading to the stitching, the job and schooling. I’m sure 2013 will mirror last year!

  • Sharon Green Long

    You finished some fabulous stitching projects last year! Congrats! Best wishes are you embark on obtaining your master’s degree. I know you will do well. Happy New Year to you and your beautiful family!

  • Karoline

    Happy new year to you all, I hope it’s a good one

  • mary

    With the family and all the animals I am in awe of all that you accomplish! Happy New Year to you and may 2013 be the best ever!!

Leave a Reply

Nina Gaby

Essays, stories, novels and more.

life, the universe, and stitching

Scratchings from an Urban Chicken Farmer

Raising two children on 1/2 acre of land

life, the universe, and stitching

Yellow Flower Meadow

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

SPINSTER STITCHER

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitching in Lobster Land

life, the universe, and stitching

Quietly Stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Quilt Obsession

fabric, needle, thread & thimble

Days of a Sampler Lover

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

FogCity Dweller

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitched Memories in Time

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitch by Stitch

life, the universe, and stitching

Oubliette

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

