small things

Arden did sleep better last night – he was only up from 2 – 3:30 am. I still feel a bit out of it, but not as wonked as I did yesterday. This morning I tried to build a fire in the wood stove, but must concede that Niek is far, far better at that than I am. However, if you’re after special effects that include lots of inky black smoke, I’m your gal. ;) Flip gave up on me, abandoned his spot by the stove and settled comfortably into … an egg box? Don’t ask me – the animals who live here are weird.

who says egg cartons are just for eggs

Up through lunch, Arden seemed to making a great recovery. We watched a bit of Diego on the computer, but he mostly wanted to play with his Play-Doh. Here he is, building and eating a birthday cake. (Don’t call Child Services on me – he isn’t really eating it!) (And ignore the mess behind him – that’s our ‘burn box’ and we don’t bother to keep it pretty, LOL.) Unfortunately, around 2 pm he just crashed – the coughing resumed, the snot started coming out of everywhere, and he actually asked to go to bed. I cuddled him up with a blankie on the sofa till dinnertime, but halfway through dinner he said he couldn’t do any more and just wanted to sleep. :(

arden play doh

I spent the morning racing through the rest of Blackout by Connie Willis, trying to finish before the Kindle’s battery was exhausted. LOL. I’ve just now picked up All Clear (also by Connie Willis) in the old-fashioned book form. While Arden played with Play-Doh, I put a few stitches into an old WIP that actually disappeared on me for several months. No idea where it was hiding, or what seismic shift returned it to the surface, but I’d love to finish this one ASAP and get it hung on the wall. (You must ignore the Q-snap wrinkles!) The last time I posted about it was here.

BoaF WIP

I’m loving everyone’s WIPocolypse and other challenge photos! Though I didn’t join any, I’m living through them vicariously and feel quite encouraged to catch up on some of these old WIPs that I really love and want to finish. (See Noah peeking out up in the picture of Flip?)

I also did some internet shopping, placing an order for the WDW floss I’ll need for the wonderful Birds of a Feather mystery sampler from Patti. I have some gorgeous Vikki Clayton linen that will sub beautifully for the called-for WDW Confederate Gray, but I wanted to use the suggested fibers because I was so taken with Patti’s finished work. I just caught the tail-end of the Stitching Bits and Bobs sale … which means I probably won’t get the floss till spring, but that’s okay. I might actually be ready for it by then. ;) As soon as I hit the Send button, the mailman dropped off some stash I treated myself to recently during a sale at ABC Stitch Therapy. The WDW linens were on clearance and wow! do I love the straw color!! When I first saw Bent Creek’s Red design, I wanted it immediately but have had to wait weeks for it to show up in shop inventories. I just LOVE this design!!

stash

I also stole a lovely little repro sampler on an eBay auction.

stash

Judging by Arden’s downward spiral this afternoon/evening, tonight will be another one with too little sleep. I understand why we’re biologically programmed to bear children when we are younger … I feel all of my forty two years and then some after the better part of week with insufficient sleep. I’m amazed and humbled by how well Arden’s handling it, though – not a bit of crankiness or unpleasantness. He’s come over to me a bunch of times to give me a hug and tell me he loves me. :) So I’m trying to live up to his good example.

About Barbara

nestled into my adopted home state of Maine, where I'm a happy homesteader with a big family that I love lots & lots View all posts by Barbara

16 responses to “small things

  • Patti

    So sorry to hear that Arden is not back to 100% and that your sleep is still lacking. My fingers are crossed that things will improve tomorrow – after a good night’s sleep!

  • Catherine

    Great stitchy goodies!!
    Poor Arden! I do hope he gets to feeling better soon!

  • Glenna

    Oh, my goodness, Barbara, and here I was feeling sorry for myself for having no voice and feeling medium-crappy and guilty about infecting my poor father. At least I can sleep! There’s a stitching chair for you in heaven for all the hard work you put in for your kids. I’ve been trying to remember if I’ve seen “Red” at the shop and don’t think so, but it sure is a winner! Best wishes on everyone being snuffle-free soon.

  • Chris

    Hope you guys get some rest tonight.
    Lovely stitching :)

  • Margaret

    I’ve been wanting to read those Connie Willis books — I should just dive in sometime. Glad to know they’re good! Poor Arden. Poor you too! I sure hope you’re all feeling better soon! I do remember that WIP — so pretty! Love the new charts you picked up too!

  • Sharon Green Long

    Poor Arden, nothing worse than having a child that doesn’t feel well. I hope you get some rest and soon. Loving your stash. You could send Flip my way, he is gorgeous!

  • Giovanna

    That Bent Creek chart is indeed very charming! Congrats on the new acquisitions, and well done on the WIP. I hope Arden, and you!, get some relief soon.

  • Siobhan

    Aww, poor Arden, I’m sorry he’s feeling so bad! I have the same cold and know how miserable it is–especially when trying to sleep! I think my DH is ready to smother me with a pillow. LOL

    Love the new stash, and the WIP!

  • Annie

    These winter ailments can really drag on. Hope you guys are back to feeling chipper soon.

    Great new stash and i love that apple piece. It’s looking great. Been on my to-do list for a long time.

  • Bertie

    Speedy recovery for Arden! You will love the mystery sampler, I am nearly finished now and it’s a lovely piece to stitch.
    Youv’e got some lovely stash there, and your wip is very nice too!

  • Katrina

    Hope Arden is feeling much better this morning!!!! Love your WIP too and the sampler is gorgeous.

  • Carol

    Awww…poor little Arden. I do hope he is feeling more chipper very soon!

    What a cute little Red Riding Hood piece, Barbara–hadn’t seen that one before! And nice new stash as well. Yes, it does take a long, long time for stuff to arrive from Stitching Bits & Bobs, doesn’t it! Nice progress on your WIP–hope it becomes a finish for you very soon.

  • my023

    Hope by now you are sleeping and Arden is 100%. Hard to stitch without sleep.

  • beritbunny

    Love that BOAF piece (been waiting for it to resurface), and must say that LRR is a favorite with me! :D Also, Great Cat pic!! :D

  • vero

    very beautifull cat
    i have too 3 chikens at home 1 black, 1 white and 1 rousse
    bonne journee

  • jeremiah

    When I was in 8th grade, my teacher Mrs. Warner read us An Episode of Sparrows by Rumer Godden, a book about an orphan who plants a garden in the bombed-out rubble of a church, and I fell in love with the Blitz.

Leave a Reply

Starry-eyed-stitcher

life, the universe, and stitching

Scratchings from an Urban Chicken Farmer

Raising two children on 1/2 acre of land

Katie and The Carrots

life, the universe, and stitching

Yellow Flower Meadow

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

SPINSTER STITCHER

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitching in Lobster Land

life, the universe, and stitching

Quietly Stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitches and More

life, the universe, and stitching

Quilt Obsession

fabric, needle, thread & thimble

Days of a Sampler Lover

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

FogCity Dweller

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitched Memories in Time

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitch by Stitch

life, the universe, and stitching

Oubliette

life, the universe, and stitching

Chocolates for Breakfast; Stitching for Lunch

life, the universe, and stitching

With Needle and Thread

life, the universe, and stitching

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

