martha stewart and the pod people

I have a confession to make. When I purchased my Singer sewing machine in December, I received a coupon for a year’s free subscription to Martha Stewart Living magazine. I received my first one yesterday … and I love it. I can’t believe it! Did the pod people get me and I didn’t notice? Well, it may be true because look what I did last night:

candy

I made candy.

beach glass candy

Can you believe that? I sort of can’t. Actually the recipe was incredibly simple and the candy was just so pretty when I saw it here that I knew it was the perfect thing to try my new candy thermometer on. (I actually bought the thermometer so I could finally make a decent batch of fudge.)

So tell me, did the pod people get me? Actually, after glancing into the corners of my kitchen – which aren’t really corners any more because of the debris that’s built up in them – I guess I’m still the same ol’  Barbara. But maybe Martha will improve & enhance the original recipe and I’ll become the New & Improved Barbara. ;)

Now if I can stop being silly for a moment, I’ll tell you that I started on Arden’s new bed right after breakfast this morning and made pretty good progress. I got one end board (head or foot? I don’t know) completely done, one side board ocmpletely done, and the other side board very nearly done. Woohoo for me!

partially stripped bed

About Barbara

nestled into my adopted home state of Maine, where I'm a happy homesteader with a big family that I love lots & lots View all posts by Barbara

15 responses to “martha stewart and the pod people

  • Margaret

    Oh wow! I’m totally impressed! You’ll be another Martha Stewart in no time — making candy, refinishing furniture, — pretty cool!

  • Dianne

    Can’t wait to see that project progress…

  • Catherine

    Ooohh! The candy looks really cool!

    The bed is looking great!

  • Marsha

    The pod people did not get you. I love Martha’s magazine. Just the pictures are worth the price of the magazine and I actually learn something from each one. You should see the pictures of her linens collection. WOW. Arden’s getting a big boy bed – ahhh.

  • Dianne

    Gorgeous candy-never saw that kind before.And you really don’t need a candy thermometer for fudge-just some condensed milk and chocolate. I think I have a good one I can share that takes 5 minutes. But if you want to go the old fashioned way I understand. ; )
    I love Martha Stewart’s magazine and have oodles of old ones I just can’t toss. They are like books.
    Great photos in the post before this one too.
    The bed is looking good! I use to refinish things all the time myself.
    I am a bit sick with a head cold and we are again expecting more snow-another Nor’easter. It’s crazy this year!

  • KarenV

    When you’ve finished the bed, there’s a half-finished bookcase over here you can come and do as well ;)

  • leechbabe

    Yay for progress.

    A little bit of Martha is okay, it is when she takes over that it becomes a problem.

  • Siobhan

    Wow!! You go girl! I wish the pod people would overtake me sometimes, instead of the sloth people. ;)

  • riona

    The bed will be lovely when complete. The candy looks too pretty to eat … but I have got to say I like the photo of it cooking even better.

  • Annie

    You won’t be able to call your place “Chateau Chaos” anymore if you keep Martha-izing the place!

  • baahurrahfarm

    :- Mikes mother buys me a subscription of Martha for the holidays every year..I think she is hopeful it will change me…but 3 years later I believe she realizes there is no hope..
    I received your plea for wool..when the “kids” are sheared I will clean and send over the belly wool which is perfect for crafts but not so good for spinning.

  • staci

    oooh! Thank you for the link to that candy recipe! I am definitely going to make it. I can see it now, packaged up in jars with pretty ribbon and antiqued tags as end-of-the-year gifts for the teachers!!!

  • Tanya

    I’ve always wanted to make candy but alas, no temp thingie like your new one. One of these days … that beach glass candy is awesome looking!

    Tanya

  • grandpa jim

    You certainly have your Mother’s energy. I need to take a nap after reading your blog…

Leave a Reply

Nina Gaby

Essays, stories, novels and more.

life, the universe, and stitching

Scratchings from an Urban Chicken Farmer

Raising two children on 1/2 acre of land

life, the universe, and stitching

Yellow Flower Meadow

life, the universe, and stitching

Eye of the Needle

life, the universe, and stitching

SPINSTER STITCHER

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitching in Lobster Land

life, the universe, and stitching

Quietly Stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Quilt Obsession

fabric, needle, thread & thimble

Days of a Sampler Lover

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitched Memories in Time

life, the universe, and stitching

Stitch by Stitch

life, the universe, and stitching

Oubliette

life, the universe, and stitching

life, the universe, and stitching

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

